LUCI: Mommy has been wanting me to use the “big girl potty” for awhile. I’ve been really trying. The underwear (or as I like to call them, “panty pants”) are ok, but sometimes I miss my white diapers. When I wear my white diapers, I don’t have to stop what I’m doing to go potty. Sometimes, I’m doing really important things like playing with my blocks or watching my favorite show. When I start to feel like I have to go, I yell “I gotta water on the potty!” and I run to the bathroom. I sit on my potty chair on the toilet and go pee pee. Then, I “pat, pat, pat, pat, pat” with paper, put it in the water, and pull my panty pants back up. Except poop. I don’t like to poop on the potty. The other day, I pooped in my pants and then I ran around the house. Some of the poop came out and landed on the floor. It was the CUTEST little poop! It was SO TINY and CUTE! I picked a piece up and showed it to Mommy. I thought she would love it! She did not love it. She said, “YUCK! Is that poop?? LUCI!! NO!!!”

MOMMY: Oh, the joys of potty-training! We have been at it for about a month now. Every day, Luci is getting better and better at making it to the bathroom. In the beginning, I resorted to all-out bribery. I put a bowl of leftover Christmas candy on the back of the toilet and told her she could pick a candy bar if she went on the potty. That didn’t last very long. She picked 6 candy bars when I wasn’t looking. Then my 16-year-old son came home, used the bathroom, and promptly came out to say, “Mom. Do you really think the back of the toilet is the best place for a candy dish. Gross.” I could see his point. So, I moved on to a hidden stash of suckers. After a few days, Luci was using the potty without expecting a reward. We didn’t put pants on her for the first couple of weeks. I wanted it to be as easy as possible for her to do it herself. Now, we are to the point where she can wear pants and we have even taken short trips to the store with no accidents. She has also had a few successful nights when she stayed dry all night or got up in the middle of the night to go potty. Pee pee…yes. Poop….NO! She just refuses to poop on the potty! If I catch her pooping in her pants, she runs and hides. Then the other day, she ran around with poop in her pants without me realizing it. Because she loves anything that is tiny, small, cute, baby, etc., she thought her little poop nugget was SO great! She was proud to show me her little poop nugget! I did not have the same reaction to the above-mentioned poop nugget.  We’ll keep trying! I mean, surely she won’t still be pooping her pants when she’s 5, right?!?

Leave a Reply

